Saudi Arabia leads airstrikes against Houthis in Yemen

An armed man gestures as he stands on the rubble of houses destroyed by an air strike near Sanaa Airport March 26, 2015. (Reuters)

ARA News

Urfa, Turkey –Saudi warplanes destroyed most of the air defenses of the Houthi group in Yemen on Thursday.

The Saudi air forces and allies began bombing Houthi positions in response to an invitation by Yemeni President Abed Rabbo Mansour Hadi, after a joint statement issued by the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), announcing the approval to protect Yemen from Houthis.

“Our countries decided to accede to the request of President Abed Rabbo Mansour Hadi, President of the Republic of Yemen, to protect the country and its dear people from the Houthi militia-led aggression,” the GCC’s statement read.

“The Houthis were and still are the tool of foreign powers (in reference to Iran) that disturb the security and stability of the neighboring Yemen.”

The GCC referred to preparations to send ground troops to Yemen “if necessary”, adding there are ten countries involved in military operations against the Houthis, including the Gulf States, Egypt and other allies.

The king of Saudi Arabia, Salman bin Abdul Aziz, commanded the so-called “Decisive Storm” military operation against the Houthis in Yemen on Thursday.

On the other hand, Muhammad Bukhaiti, leading member of the Houthi armed forces, responded to the raids saying: “the Saudi air strikes represent aggression against Yemen and it will pull the region into a collective war.”

“There is an aggression on Yemen and we will bravely face the military operations that will drag the entire region into a collective war,” Bkhitti said in a statement on Thursday.

The Saudi-led air forces were able to destroy the Houthi Daylami air base in Yemen and other tactual units of the group across the country. 

“The air forces were able to destroy the Joint Operations Chamber of the Houthis in Sanaa,” Saudi sources reported.

The countries participating in the anti-Houthi operations in Yement include Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Qatar, Kuwait, Turkey, Egypt, Jordan, Algeria and Sudan.


Reporting by: Ziwer Osman

Source: ARA News

Leave a comment

twelve + 7 =